Christmas Lights

Village News

20130704 | Cornwall Council - Council appoints Chairs and Vice Chairs to


Council appoints Chairs and Vice Chairs to new Portfolio Advisory Committees

Last updated: 04/07/2013 Add to My Bookmarks Subscribe

The Chairs and Vice Chairs of the new Portfolio Advisory Committees (PACs), which will provide support and challenge to the ten Members of Cornwall Council’s Cabinet and play a key role in developing Council policies, have now been formally appointed.

The creation of the new PACs follows changes to the way the Council operates. The new system is designed to ensure that all Members are involved in developing policies and that the Council takes the views of the public into account when it makes decisions. It will also help ensure that the authority is more open and transparent and reflects and better responds to the needs of local people.

There is now a PAC attached to each of the ten portfolio areas whose role is to support and challenge the portfolio holders. Each PAC has 10 non-Cabinet members and is chaired by a nominated Member who is not the portfolio holder. The PACs will meet formally every eight weeks, with the meetings open to the press and public.

The new PAC Chairs and Vice Chairs are:

Children and Young People: Chair - Joyce Duffin, Member for Mount Hawke and Portreath electoral division (Liberal Democrat); Vice Chair - Sally Hawken, Member for Liskeard East electoral division (Independent).

Devolution and Localism: Chair - Carolyn Rule, Member for Mullion and Grade-Ruan electoral division (Independent); Vice Chair - Harry Blakeley, Member for Camborne Pendarves electoral division (UK Independence Party).

Economy and Culture: Chair – Tim Dwelly, Member for Penzance East electoral division (Labour); Vice Chair – Jim Candy, Member for the Trelawny electoral division (Liberal Democrat).

Environment, Heritage and Planning: Chair - Dick Cole, Member for St Enoder electoral division (Mebyon Kernow); Vice Chair - Gary King, Member for Mount Charles electoral division (Independent).

Finance and Resources: Chair - Derek Elliott, Member for Four Lanes electoral division (UK Independence Party); Vice Chair – Mike Eathorne-Gibbons, Member for Ladock, St Clement and St Erme electoral division (Independent).

Health and Adult Care: Chair – Simon Rix, Member for the Bugle electoral division (Liberal Democrat); Vice Chair – Candy Atherton, Member for Falmouth Smithick electoral division (Labour).

Homes and Communities: Chair - Des Curnow, Member for St Stephen in Brannel (Independent); Vice Chair – Matthew Luke, Member for Penwithick and Boscoppa electoral division (Mebyon Kernow).

Partnerships: Chair - Armand Toms, Member for Looe East electoral division (Independent); Vice Chair - Richard Buscombe, Member for Padstow electoral division (Liberal Democrat).

Reputation and Performance: Chair - Malcolm Moyle, Member for Pool and Tehidy electoral division (Labour); Vice Chair - Paula Dolphin, Member for Grenville and Stratton electoral division (Liberal Democrat).

Transport and Waste: Chair - Roy Taylor, Member for St Blazey electoral division (Liberal Democrat); Vice Chair - Tim Andrewes, Member for St Ives East electoral division (Non-aligned).

“The aim of the PACs is to enable all Members to take a more active role in developing Council policies and monitoring performance,” said Council Leader John Pollard. “They will also provide an opportunity to have discussions on the work which is being carried out by Members through partnerships and other organisations the Council is involved with.”

The new governance system also includes changes to the Scrutiny system. Rather than the previous five Overview and Scrutiny committees, there are now two formal Scrutiny committees – a Scrutiny Management Committee and a Health and Social Care Scrutiny Committee.

Jim McKenna, the Member for Penzance Promendade electoral division (Independent) has been elected as Chair of the Health and Social Care Scrutiny, with David Parsons, the Member for Bude electoral division (Liberal Democrat) elected as the Vice Chair. The committee is responsible for setting up Parliamentary style Select Committees to do detailed challenge work within the remit of health and social care.

Neil Burden, the Member for Stokeclimsland electoral division (Independent) has been appointed as Chair of the Scrutiny Management Committee, with Derris Watson, the Member for St Cleer electoral division (Liberal Democrat) elected as the Vice Chair. The Management Committee will look at all other work, including statutory scrutiny responsibilities. Again, detailed work will be carried out by select committees, which will look at specific areas of work as and when necessary.

Story posted 04 July 2013

Book page

PA18/03948 | Proposed office with associated parking and landscaping. | Land Off Marsh Lane Marsh Lane Industrial Park Hayle TR2 5 days 1 hour agoBook page
Thursday 21 June 2018 | Planning Applications | Hayle Town Council 5 days 1 hour agoBook page
PA18/04051 | New external entrance lobby | Home Bargains Co Op Stores 18 Copper Terrace Copperhouse Hayle Cornwall TR27 4EB 5 days 1 hour agoBook page
2018 | Please vote for Angarrack Christmas lights sheds at Calor Gas 6 days 20 hours agoBook page
PA18/04517 | Construction of extension and entrance porch to existing dwelling - 13 And 13A Steamers Hill Angarrack Hayle Cornwa 2 weeks 4 days agoBook page
CLOSED | PA18/01106/PREAPP | Pre-application advice for use of garden as a camping site (tents only) for tourist holiday use and 2 weeks 4 days agoBook page
News from Hayle Town Council 2 weeks 4 days agoBook page
180525 | Hayle's 5th Century Christian burial stone, the Cunaide Stone subject of ongoing conservation work and investigatory 3D 2 weeks 5 days agoBook page
180515 | PA18/04552 | Submission of details for partial discharge of condition 3 in respect of Decision Notice PA13/01370 dated 3 weeks 1 day agoBook page
180522 | Wyevale Garden Centres on market - willing to accept offers for individual stores, groups or single entity 3 weeks 4 days agoBook page
180515 | Eight Cornwall beaches join official list of bathing waters for new season - Cornwall Live 3 weeks 5 days agoBook page
Approved with conditions | PA18/03502 | Two storey extension. - Trungle Mill 32 Riverside Angarrack Hayle Cornwall TR27 5JD 3 weeks 5 days agoBook page

tags for 20130704 | Cornwall Council - Council appoints Chairs and Vice Chairs to

Jeremy Rowe LD | Egloshayle, St Breock, St Ervan, St Eval, St Issey, St Mabyn & St Tudy