Christmas Lights

Village News

121115 | By-election candidates named

Spotted in the The Cornishman, Thursday 15 November 2012

By- election candidates named

Thursday, November 15, 2012

The Cornishman

THE CANDIDATES for next month's Gwinear, Gwithian and St Erth by-election have been announced.

Voters will go to the polls on December 6 to elect a new Cornwall councillor for the division, following the death of Ray Tovey, earlier this year.

The candidates are Yvonne Bates (Lib Dem), of Angarrack, Derrek Elliott (Ind), of Angarrack, Sheila Furneaux (Ind), of St Hilary, John Gillingham (Mebyon Kernow), of Troon, Malcolm Hurst (Lab), of St Ives, Anthony Pascoe (Con), of Fraddam and Michael Roberts (Ind), of Gwinear.

People not currently registered have until midnight on Wednesday, November 21, to register to vote.

Electors who are unable to vote in person on polling day have until 5pm on November 21 to apply to vote by post and until 5pm on November 28 to apply to vote by proxy.

tags for 121115 | By-election candidates named