Christmas Lights

Village News

181206 | LGBC Final recommendations

On 4 December 2018 we published our final recommendations for future electoral arrangements for Cornwall Council.

We are proposing that Cornwall should have 87 councillors.

Those councillors should represent 87 one councillor divisions, across Cornwall.

We are also proposing that the boundaries of all divisions should change.

We have now completed our electoral review of Cornwall Council.

We are extremely grateful to the people of Cornwall who took the time and effort to send us their views.

We considered every piece of evidence we received before finalising our recommendations.


As a result of our recommendations for new division patterns, we are making changes to the parish electoral arrangements for the following parish and town councils:

  • Bodmin Town Council
  • Bude-Stratton Town Council
  • Camborne Town Council
  • Carn Brea Parish Council
  • Dobwalls & Trewidland Parish Council
  • Egloshayle Parish Council
  • Falmouth Town Council
  • Hayle Town Council
  • Helston Town Council
  • Kenwyn Parish Council
  • Launceston Town Council
  • Liskeard Town Council
  • Ludgvan Parish Council
  • Luxulyan Parish Council
  • Newquay Town Council
  • Penryn Town Council
  • Pentewan Valley Parish Council
  • Penzance Town Council
  • Perranzabuloe Parish Council
  • Redruth Town Council
  • St Agnes Parish Council
  • St Austell Town Council
  • St Clement Parish Council
  • St Ives Town Council
  • St Stephen-in-Brannel Parish Council
  • Saltash Town Council
  • Torpoint Town Council
  • Treverbyn Parish Council
  • Truro City Council

The changes we have proposed must now be approved by Parliament.

A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will now be laid before Parliament.

The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Cornwall to be implemented at the local elections in 2021.


Gwinear-Gwithian and Hayle East ED Proposed - Local Government Boundary Commission for England Consultation
Hayle West ED Proposed - Local Government Boundary Commission for England Consultation
Gwinear-Gwithian & Hayle East and Hayle West Map

tags for 181206 | LGBC Final recommendations